Florida Bright Futures Program

The Florida Bright Futures Scholarship is a State of Florida lottery-funded program to reward Florida high school graduates who demonstrate high academic achievement and enroll in eligible Florida postsecondary institutions.

Florida Bright Futures recipients will receive a fixed cost per credit hour award based upon their award level:

Florida Academic Scholar (FAS)
Academic Top Scholars (ATS)
Florida Medallion Scholar (FMS)
Florida Gold Seal Vocational Scholar (GSV)

The cost-per-credit-hour amount is determined by Florida Legislative session, and may vary from year to year. No books, supplies or college preparatory courses are paid by the Florida Bright Futures program.

How to Apply and Selection of Students

New Students

  1. High school seniors are selected to receive one of the scholarships based on SAT or ACT test scores, cumulative weighted high school grade point average. Successful completion of specific high school courses and completed community service hours..
  2. High school students are also required to apply for the scholarship by submitting the Florida Financial Aid Application (FFAA) to the Florida Department of Education Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA) by the deadline.
  3. Upon graduation, high school graduates are responsible for tracking their application and award status online at floridastudentfinancialaid.org.


All Students must:

  1. Be a U.S. citizen, or eligible non-citizen
  2. Be a Florida resident as determined by the Admissions and Student Records office
  3. Enroll in an eligible degree or certificate program
  4. Enroll for at least six credit hours per term, not to exceed 45 credit hours annually. Remedial (college preparatory) classes are not eligible. Students enrolled in one college credit course and one college preparatory course would not be eligible unless an additional college credit or technical course was added to their schedule.
  5. Not have been found guilty of or pled nolo contendere to a felony charge.
  6. Activate the award within two years of high school graduation